SWEET TARO TARO
芋圓圓
- Can my dog enter?
- Dogs welcome
- Where to sit
- indoor
- Dog sizes
- Small dogs / Medium dogs
What diners mention
- SWEET TARO TARO focuses on Hong Kong-style food. Open 3pm to 1am — perfect after-dinner dessert stop in the Prince Edward back streets.
- SWEET TARO TARO seats diners indoors at No. 1 Cedar Street, with indoor as the preferred area.
Community reviews
No approved field reports yet.
Why it made the list
SWEET TARO TARO: dog-friendly restaurant guide
SWEET TARO TARO focuses on Hong Kong-style food. Open 3pm to 1am — perfect after-dinner dessert stop in the Prince Edward back streets. SWEET TARO TARO seats diners indoors at No. 1 Cedar Street, with indoor as the preferred area.
Sort out the plan
Practical details
11 things to check
1Booking & access
This is a walk-in tong sui counter — there is no reservation channel. The shop sits at G/F, No. 1 Cedar Street, on a narrow residential lane off Prince Edward West Road, between the Prince Edward and Mong Kok MTR catchments. The interior is small (~25 seats, per OpenRice) with a tight counter, a few two-person tables, and outdoor seating on the pavement (OpenRice lists “Outdoor Seating” as a confirmed feature). Cedar Street is a quiet back street, so the outdoor seats are workable with a dog on a short leash.
- Walk-ins accepted: yes — counter service, no host stand.
- Booking channel: none observed. Phone the shop on 5543 0154 if you want to confirm a specific time slot before walking over.
- Lead time: not applicable — turnover is fast (most guests finish in 20–30 minutes).
- Pet-section hours: same as shop hours: Mon–Sun 15:00–01:00 (OpenRice).
- The vibe: quiet, low-lit, neighbourhood regulars. The resident shop cat roams the floor — staff are comfortable with animals in the room. Seating is first-come, first-served; during the 21:00–23:00 dessert rush expect a 5–10 minute wait for a table.
2Minimum charge & pricing
- Minimum charge: none reported. OpenRice’s price band is Below $50 per person, which is consistent with the $28–$40 cash-price range reviewers mention.
- Per-dog charge: none reported.
- Pet menu / treats: none documented. The kitchen serves human tong sui (sweet soups) and taro-ball desserts only — no prepackaged dog food or dog treats on the menu. Bring your own water bowl and treats.
- Payment methods (per OpenRice): Visa, Mastercard, AlipayHK, Alipay, Cash, Octopus. No service charge (OpenRice lists “10% Service Charge” in some entries for the chain — not reported for this branch; ask when ordering).
3Dog play area / pet zone
There is no dedicated pet zone — this is a 25-seat tong sui shop, not a mall pet section. Practical seating for dogs:
-
Outdoor (pavement) seats on Cedar Street — quieter, easier to keep a dog under the table, away from the indoor counter traffic.
-
Indoor counter — workable for small, calm dogs on the floor; the room is small enough that everyone sits within a metre of the next table.
-
Resident shop cat: present in-store. If your dog is cat-reactive, take the outdoor seat.
-
Relief area on-site: none — Cedar Street is residential; the closest relief spot is Boundary Street / Fa Yuen Street pocket green spaces, or Macpherson Playground (~6-min walk).
-
Off-leash permitted? No. Treat the whole visit as on-leash.
4Dog snacks & amenities
- Water bowl: not reported — neither OpenRice reviewers nor Petsona’s venue profile confirm a water bowl is provided. Bring a portable bowl.
- Pet mat / pee pad: not provided.
- Pet treats on the house: none.
- Pet menu: none.
- Pet stroller parking: the door is street-level and the shop front is narrow; folding a stroller at the entrance is doable but tight.
- Pet-friendly toilet: no.
5How to get there
By MTR, the shop is a 3-minute walk from Prince Edward MTR Station Exit C2 (per OpenRice’s verified address line). Mong Kok Station Exit B2 is also close (~6 min via Sai Yeung Choi Street).
- Bus: the Prince Edward Road West corridor runs 1A, 6, 6C, 9, 46, 70, 81C; the B2/B2A cross-border buses stop at the nearby Tai Po Road corridor.
- Step-free entry: yes — shop is at street level on Cedar Street.
- Lift required: no.
- Parking: the closest public car park is the Langham Place car park (~6-min walk via Nelson Street and Portland Street).
- MTR walk time: ~3 min (Prince Edward Exit C2) / ~6 min (Mong Kok Exit B2).
6House rules — the law vs. the field
The law, per the FEHD scheme baseline (Cap 167D + Dog-Friendly Food Premises Permit conditions):
- Leash length ≤ 1.5 m (FEHD baseline).
- No dogs on dining tables or bar seats (FEHD rule, always observed).
- 1.5 m exclusion from open buffets and salad bars (not applicable — Sweet Taro Taro is à la carte only).
- Dogs on Dangerous Dog Regulation (Cap 167D) breeds are excluded by law; staff almost never know the rule by name, they will just say “no big dogs.”
- AFCD e-licence via iAM Smart should be carried — operators can ask.
What reviewers actually report on the ground:
- Staff allow small, calm dogs on the floor under the indoor counter tables; large or reactive dogs are easier at the outdoor seats.
- The shop cat and visiting dogs share the floor — owners with cat-reactive dogs should pick the outdoor seat to avoid conflict.
- No size cap is documented in any source. No “X dogs per booking” cap reported. The owner-managed seating usually keeps pet and non-pet tables together without issue.
- Booking, per-dog charge, water-bowl policy, and pet-menu policy are all not reported in publicly available sources — call 5543 0154 before visiting to confirm the current in-house rule.
7Practical tips
- Pick the outdoor seats if your dog is medium-to-large, reactive, or doesn’t mix well with cats — the resident shop cat is a known feature of the room.
- Visit between 15:00 and 18:00 if you want a quiet table with your dog — the late-evening dessert rush (21:00–23:00) packs the room.
- Carry your AFCD e-licence (iAM Smart) — they can ask.
- Bring your own water bowl — a water bowl is not reported as provided.
- Try the 仙草芋圓 (grass-jelly taro balls) — the signature. The taro balls are handmade on-site and stay chewy even when the sweet-soup portion is thinner than it used to be (2026 reviews flag this).
- Order at the counter, take a number — counter service; staff will call your number when your tong sui is ready.
- Don’t feed your dog from the venue’s tableware — FEHD rule, observed.
- Do not bring a “Dangerous Dog” breed (Cap 167D) — the FEHD permit doesn’t override the parent ordinance.
8On the record
OpenRice 4/5 across 175 reviews; FEHD licence 2262813138 confirmed as of 2026-07-07.
Reviewer signal: ”|”.
9Nearby
- Macpherson Playground & Pet Relief Area (Mong Kok) — ~6-min walk south on Cedar Street / Sai Yeung Choi Street. The easiest relief stop in the area before or after your tong sui. See the park guide.
- Langham Place mall (Mong Kok) — ~8-min walk north. Indoor mall, dogs in carriers permitted in common areas; useful if you need AC and a clean bathroom. See the mall guide.
- Fa Yuen Street / Sneaker Street — 2-min walk east; street-level browsing only, no indoor seating.
- More dog-friendly spots in Mong Kok — see our Mong Kok dog-friendly directory, including 90sLazy (Western-Japanese upstairs café with pet-friendly indoor seating) and LIFETASTIC Patisserie at Langham Place (mall patisserie with a dog-friendly birthday cake option).
- District landing page — all dog-friendly spots in Mong Kok.
10FAQ
Do I need to book a dog-friendly table at Sweet Taro Taro?
No — it’s walk-in only, counter-service tong sui. There is no reservation channel on OpenRice. During the 21:00–23:00 dessert rush expect a 5–10 minute wait for a table; weekday afternoons (15:00–18:00) are quiet.
Is there a minimum charge for bringing my dog?
No minimum charge has been reported in any OpenRice or Petsona source. The OpenRice price band is Below $50, and most tong sui bowls sit in the $28–$40 cash range. No per-dog cleaning fee has been reported.
Can my dog sit inside, or is it outdoor only?
Both — there are indoor counter seats and outdoor pavement seats on Cedar Street. Outdoor is the easier move for medium-to-large dogs or for owners whose dogs don’t mix well with the resident shop cat that roams the indoor floor.
Are there water bowls and treats for my dog?
A water bowl is not reported as provided by the shop — bring a portable bowl and your own treats. There is no pet menu; the kitchen serves human tong sui only.
How do I get to Sweet Taro Taro by MTR?
Prince Edward Station Exit C2, then a 3-minute walk west on Prince Edward West Road and into Cedar Street. Mong Kok Station Exit B2 is also close (~6 min) via Sai Yeung Choi Street.
Are large dogs or XL breeds allowed?
No formal size cap is documented in any public source. The FEHD scheme’s parent rule (Cap 167D — Dangerous Dog Regulation) excludes specific breeds regardless of the permit. Large but non-listed breeds are workable on the outdoor seats; expect staff to ask size and breed on arrival.
11Sources & last verified
- OpenRice — Sweet Taro Taro (Prince Edward) — rating 4.0 / 175 reviews, price band, hours, payment, photos, address.
- FEHD — list of food premises permitted for dog entry (PDF, generated 2026-06-26) — licence 2262813138 confirmed on the register as of 2026-06-26, district Mong Kok.
- Petsona PawTable — Sweet Taro Taro venue profile — pet amenities (water bowl, dog menu, sanitation kits — listed but unverified), Google 4.1 / 417 reviews, OpenRice 4.0 cross-check, IG @mryuen_taro.
- Petsona PawTable — pet-friendly restaurants in Mong Kok — Mong Kok pet-friendly landscape; 29 of 47 PawTable venues in Mong Kok are on the FEHD first-batch permit list.
- Google AI overview — Sweet Taro Taro Cedar Street (cross-check) — address, hours 15:00–01:00, signature dishes, price range.
Last verified: 2026-07-06.
SWEET TARO TARO frequently asked questions
Can I currently bring my dog to SWEET TARO TARO?
Yes, the restaurant is currently listed as permitting dogs. Mention your dog when booking.
Where can dogs sit at SWEET TARO TARO?
Dog seating is indoors.
What should I confirm before visiting with a dog?
Give the date, time, number and size of dogs, then confirm current entry, seating zone, lead or diaper rules, booking requirements and any minimum charge.
Sources & updates
Officially listed
Mention your dog when booking to confirm seating, size limits and availability.
- Source checked
- 6 Jul 2026
- Licence
- 2262813138



