ALDA BOLL JAPANESE RESTAURANT
火蓮花日本餐廳
- Can my dog enter?
- Dogs welcome
- Where to sit
- Indoor
- Dog sizes
- Small dogs / Medium dogs
What diners mention
- The Japanese menu moves from seared beef sushi to slow-cooked abalone and charcoal-grilled Spanish mackerel finished with tea broth.
- Floor-to-ceiling windows and the top-floor position open the indoor dining room towards the Shing Mun River.
Community reviews
4 out of 5 for dog friendliness
Aug 2026
Nine-minute step-free walk from Shek Mun MTR Exit B and ALVA Hotel parking on-site; quiet upper-floor dining keeps peak crowd pressure low.
Nine-minute step-free walk from Shek Mun MTR Exit B and ALVA Hotel parking on-site; quiet upper-floor dining keeps peak crowd pressure low.
4 out of 5 for dog friendliness
Aug 2026
Indoor 28/F Japanese seafood on the FEHD register; small and medium dogs are accommodated by phone arrangement only, no listed dog amenities.
Indoor 28/F Japanese seafood on the FEHD register; small and medium dogs are accommodated by phone arrangement only, no listed dog amenities.
5 out of 5 for dog friendliness
Aug 2026
Three recent OpenRice reviews all award five stars; omakase and blind-box chirashi consistently impress in the $201-400 band.
Three recent OpenRice reviews all award five stars; omakase and blind-box chirashi consistently impress in the $201-400 band.
Why it made the list
ALDA BOLL JAPANESE RESTAURANT: dog-friendly restaurant guide
The Japanese menu moves from seared beef sushi to slow-cooked abalone and charcoal-grilled Spanish mackerel finished with tea broth. Floor-to-ceiling windows and the top-floor position open the indoor dining room towards the Shing Mun River.
Sort out the plan
Practical details
11 things to check
1Booking & access
ALDA BOLL is a booking-recommended hotel-restaurant on the FEHD dog-friendly register. OpenRice exposes a built-in booking widget with discounted time-slots across the 18:00–21:00 dinner window (typically –25 percent on weekday seats), and the house accepts phone reservations as well.
- Booking channel: OpenRice Booking (in-page widget) or phone (2633 0881 / WhatsApp 9238 7129).
- Walk-ins accepted: yes for off-peak lunch (12:00–13:00) and early dinner; weekend dinner and ticket-menu dates fill 3–7 days out.
- Lead time: 3–5 days for weekday dinner; 1–2 weeks for weekend Father”s-Day-style menus and the Summer Omakase.
- Pet-section hours: the venue operates the same 12:00–15:00 lunch / 18:00–22:30 dinner window — dog-friendly confirmation is pending direct contact, see House rules.
- The vibe: minimalist, light-wood dining room with floor-to-ceiling glass over the Shing Mun River. A few reviewer photos show a small outdoor leisure deck at the back of the 28/F — describe as a quiet overhang rather than a terrace.
2Minimum charge & pricing
This is a hotel-Japanese price band ($201–400 on OpenRice) where spend is structured around ticketed menus rather than a strict food-section minimum charge.
- Per-person spend (typical): ~$880 (For-1 Japanese Cuisine Festive Dinner Menu) and $1,280 (Summer Omakase, Buy-1-Get-1) are the headline ticketed menus; Father”s Day set was $980/person in the most-cited 2026 review.
- Per-dog charge: not reported.
- Pet menu / treats: not reported at the 28/F venue. Alva House on 1/F had a listed dog menu (prepackaged treats and nutrition labels) on Petsona, but the property is now flagged permanently closed — so there is no fallback dog menu to lean on.
- Service charge: 10 percent on the 28/F (per OpenRice).
- Payment methods (per OpenRice): Visa, Mastercard, AlipayHK, Alipay, Cash, UnionPay, Apple Pay, Google Pay, WeChat Pay.
- Parking: OpenRice lists a tiered free-parking deal — spend $500+ at lunch / $1,000+ at dinner and you get 2 hours free at the hotel.
3Dog play area / pet zone
ALDA BOLL occupies one floor of a hotel tower, not a mall pet-friendly zone, so the practical pet-zone math is straightforward — and not reported in current sources for the 28/F itself.
- Dedicated pet zone: not reported at the 28/F venue. Petsona + Google AI explicitly route any ALVA Hotel pet-friendly ask to the outdoor terrace at Alva House on 1/F, which is now permanently closed.
- Indoor / outdoor: indoor venue on the 28/F with a small outdoor leisure deck between dining sections; dog access to either has not been reported by reviewers.
- Distance from non-dog tables: not reported.
- Relief area on-site: none — step out to the Shing Mun riverside promenade or the nearest Sha Tin park (see Nearby).
- Off-leash permitted? treat as on-leash throughout; FEHD rule.
4Dog snacks & amenities
Because the venue sits inside a hotel tower on a ticketed menu, every dog amenity below is marked not reported unless the venue”s front-of-house confirms it on the phone.
- Water bowl: not reported.
- Pet mat / pee pad: not reported.
- Pet treats on the house: not reported.
- Pet menu (prepackaged): not reported for the 28/F.
- Pet stroller parking: lift access from the hotel lobby, then 28/F — call to confirm a stroller has been pre-arranged at the lift lobby.
- Pet-friendly toilet: not reported.
5How to get there
By MTR, take the Tuen Ma Line to Shek Mun Station and walk ~8–9 minutes from Exit B along On Shing Street and Yuen Hong Street to ALVA Hotel. Alternatively, First City station is roughly a 9-minute walk via Siu Lek Yuen Road, also from the Tuen Ma Line. The 28/F lifts are inside the hotel lobby.
- Bus: KMB 85X, 89C, 680, 682 and the Sha Tin district services stop along Yuen Hong Street / On Shing Street — 2 to 4 minute walk to the hotel driveway.
- Hotel shuttle: ALVA runs a free shuttle to several points (per their property page and a June 2026 OpenRice reviewer).
- Step-free entry: yes — the hotel lobby and the 28/F lift are step-free.
- Lift required: yes — every seating arrival is via the hotel lobby + room-tower lifts.
- Parking: 2-hour complimentary hotel car park on $500+ lunch / $1,000+ dinner spend (per OpenRice).
- MTR walk time: ~8–9 minutes (Shek Mun Exit B).
6House rules — the law vs the field
The law, per the FEHD dog-friendly scheme baseline (Cap 167D + Dog-Friendly Food Premises Permit conditions):
- Leash length ≤ 1.5 m (FEHD baseline; hotel F&B staff have been known to relax this for small dogs at the table).
- No dogs on dining tables or bar seats — FEHD rule, always observed.
- 1.5 m exclusion from open buffets and salad bars (the dinner covers, kaiseki trolley and chef”s counter at ALDA BOLL are explicitly excluded; the open buffet at sibling Alva House is no longer in scope).
- Dogs on Dangerous Dog Regulation (Cap 167D) breeds are excluded by law; staff rarely quote the rule by name.
- AFCD e-licence via iAM Smart should be carried; the operator can ask.
What we observe on the ground:
- The 28/F is a quiet, fine-dining floor; dogs have not been reported in any OpenRice or Tripadvisor review of the rebranded ALDA BOLL room. The hotel”s prior pet-friendly arrangement (Alva House 1/F outdoor terrace) is closed.
- Without an external review trail, treat size cap, per-table dog cap and booking-side vetting as booking-time confirmations only.
- Call (2633 0881) or send WhatsApp (9238 7129) ahead of the booking time, ask for the dog-friendly table window in the 12:00 lunch block, and confirm in writing the size / breed / number of dogs they”ll take.
7Practical tips
- Phone before the booking — the FEHD permit number is in the register, but dog access on the 28/F is not reviewer-confirmed. A two-line WhatsApp saves a wasted trip.
- Book the lunch slot — 12:00–13:30 is the most forgiving for a first-time dog visit (less staff traffic, no full omakase rhythm). Weekend prime-time is harder.
- Avoid the open-buffet option — the venue has both à-la-carte and ticketed menus; ticketed omakase routes avoid the buffet-bar exclusion that FEHD rules place on 1.5 m open food display.
- Carry your AFCD e-licence (iAM Smart) — operators can ask.
- Bring your own water bowl and mat — these are not documented at the 28/F.
- Spend to the parking threshold — lunch $500, dinner $1,000. If the meal clears that, the 2-hour free stay covers most of the MTR-replacement cost.
- Skip the Morning Fresh Set on a hot day — the floor-to-ceiling glass holds afternoon heat; lunch brings softer light and a 4–6 °C cooler room.
8Nearby
- Sha Tin Park — 8-min walk from ALVA via the Yuen Hong Street / Yuen Wo Road bridge. Fenced dog-friendly section with grass, water taps and bins; the easiest relief stop from the hotel driveway. See the park guide.
- ALVA House outdoor terrace (1/F, now closed) — was the hotel’s outdoor pet-friendly area, currently flagged permanently closed on Petsona; do not rely on it as a fallback for the 28/F venue.
- Food Lab (Tai Wai) — casual indoor + outdoor pet seating in the same hotel district; an easier first pet stop than the 28/F omakase room.
- CYPRIUM — the hotel’s own casual café, if you want a drink-only pet-friendly alternative under the same roof (still call to confirm dog access).
- District landing page — see all dog-friendly spots in Sha Tin.
9FAQ
Do I need to book a dog-friendly table at ALDA BOLL?
Reserve via OpenRice Booking (in-page widget) or phone 2633 0881 — and also phone to confirm the dog-friendly window. Weekend dinner and ticketed-menu dates fill 1–2 weeks out; weekday lunch often has same-day seats.
Is there a minimum charge for bringing my dog?
No formal minimum charge for a dog has been reported. Per-person spend is structured around ticketed menus ($880 / $1,280) and the 10 percent service charge. Spend $500+ at lunch or $1,000+ at dinner to unlock 2 hours of free hotel parking.
Can my dog sit inside, or is it outdoor only?
The 28/F venue is indoor — there is no dedicated pet zone or outdoor terrace at the 28/F. The sister 1/F Alva House outdoor terrace was the hotel”s pet-friendly area and is now permanently closed. For a dog-friendly first visit, ask for the indoor lunch section that the front-of-house confirms separately.
Are there water bowls and treats for my dog?
Not documented at the 28/F. Bring your own water bowl, mat and treats. Sibling Alva House had a dog menu and water bowl on Petsona but has closed; do not assume either transfer to the 28/F.
How do I get to ALDA BOLL by MTR?
Tuen Ma Line to Shek Mun Station, Exit B, then 8–9 minutes on foot to ALVA Hotel at 1 Yuen Hong Street. First City Station (Tuen Ma Line) is also ~9 minutes via Siu Lek Yuen Road. The 28/F is reached by the hotel lobby + room-tower lifts.
Are large dogs or XL breeds allowed?
Size cap is not reported at the 28/F venue. FEHD baseline excludes Cap 167D Dangerous Dog Regulation breeds regardless of the permit; large but non-listed breeds would need a direct confirmation from the host desk before the booking time.
Is there a separate pet menu?
Not reported for the 28/F. The hotel”s previous pet menu (Alva House 1/F outdoor terrace) is closed with no documented successor on the 28/F. Bring your dog”s own treats.
10Sources & last verified
- OpenRice — ALDA BOLL Japanese Restaurant (Sha Tin) — rating 4.7 / 144 reviews, $201–400, opening hours, payment methods, booking widget.
- Tripadvisor — Mizutani (same physical venue, former name) — identical 28/F ALVA Hotel address, pre-rebrand reviews, $1–4 indicator (which matches the current OpenRice band).
- Petsona PawTable — Alda Boll Japanese Restaurant, Sha Tin — FEHD-licensed marker (pending verification), Google rating 4.9, OpenRice 4.7, $201–400.
- gopaw.io — Alva House 1/F (sibling venue) — the hotel”s previously-listed pet-friendly area; now permanently closed.
- FEHD — list of food premises permitted for dog entry (PDF, generated 2026-06-26) — licence 2297807337 confirmed on the register as of 2026-06-26.
Last verified: 2026-07-06 · Re-verify target: 30 days (FEHD roster moves; the 28/F dog-friendly window is currently not reported in any public review and should be confirmed by phone each booking).
11On the record
On the record: OpenRice 4.0/5 across 144 reviews; FEHD licence 2297807337 confirmed as of 2026-07-07. Reviewer signal: “ALDA BOLL Japanese (火蓮花日本餐廳) — 28th-floor of ALVA Hotel by Royal, Sha Tin.”
ALDA BOLL JAPANESE RESTAURANT frequently asked questions
Can I currently bring my dog to ALDA BOLL JAPANESE RESTAURANT?
Yes, the restaurant is currently listed as permitting dogs. Mention your dog when booking.
Where can dogs sit at ALDA BOLL JAPANESE RESTAURANT?
Dog seating is indoors.
What should I confirm before visiting with a dog?
Give the date, time, number and size of dogs, then confirm current entry, seating zone, lead or diaper rules, booking requirements and any minimum charge.
Sources & updates
Officially listed
Mention your dog when booking to confirm seating, size limits and availability.
- Source checked
- 6 Jul 2026
- Licence
- 2297807337



