Art of Canton
粵藝館
- Can my dog enter?
- Dogs welcome
- Where to sit
- Indoor
- Dog sizes
- Small dogs / Medium dogs
What diners mention
- Modern Cantonese dim sum focus — a Causeway Bay stalwart.
- Art of Canton provides an indoor dining room with table seating at 1 Matheson Street.
Community reviews
5 out of 5 for dog friendliness
Aug 2026
Times Square 10/F — 3-minute step-free walk from Causeway Bay Exit A, with on-site mall parking and lifts.
Times Square 10/F — 3-minute step-free walk from Causeway Bay Exit A, with on-site mall parking and lifts.
3 out of 5 for dog friendliness
Aug 2026
Times Square indoor Cantonese fine-dining room — dogs allowed, but indoor-only with no outdoor pet zone and no listed water bowl.
Times Square indoor Cantonese fine-dining room — dogs allowed, but indoor-only with no outdoor pet zone and no listed water bowl.
4 out of 5 for dog friendliness
Aug 2026
Upscale Cantonese at $201–400 with 198 reviews — strong on signature roasts and dim sum, mixed on execution.
Upscale Cantonese at $201–400 with 198 reviews — strong on signature roasts and dim sum, mixed on execution.
Why it made the list
Art of Canton: dog-friendly restaurant guide
Modern Cantonese dim sum focus — a Causeway Bay stalwart. Art of Canton provides an indoor dining room with table seating at 1 Matheson Street.
Sort out the plan
Practical details
11 things to check
1Booking & access
Art of Canton is reservation-friendly rather than reservation-only — OpenRice shows a fully working booking widget (1–15% rebates on most slots) plus phone reservations on 2885 3390, and reviewers do mention walk-ins succeeding on quiet weekday lunches. The booking widget shows more than 138,000 past bookings, so weekend prime-time slots (Fri–Sat 18:30–20:00) book out days ahead. Lunch (10:30–15:30) walk-ins are common; dinner (18:00–22:00) is tighter.
- Reservation: recommended via OpenRice or by phone.
- Lead time: 2–3 days for weekday dinner; 5–7 days for Fri/Sat dinner.
- Walk-ins: workable at lunch; tougher on Fri/Sat dinner.
- Pet-section hours: same as the restaurant (lunch + dinner only — no all-day).
- The vibe: the host team has been reported as uneven — many reviewers describe a warm, polished welcome, while a small set (e.g. Oct 2025, Feb 2026) flag curt or rushed greetings at the door. If you arrive with a small-to-medium calm dog, expect to be guided to a corner table.
2Minimum charge & pricing
- Minimum charge: none reported by any reviewer. OpenRice price band is
$201–400per person, with a reviewer (Apr 2026) spending ~HK$227 on a weekday dim-sum lunch and another (Oct 2025) around HK$750–$1,000 on a tasting dinner for two. - Set-menu anchors: OpenRice advertises “Premium 10-Course Dinner Set” from HK$588/person, a “Premium Lunch Set” from HK$348, and the “Premium All Day Set” from HK$1,488/2 persons — service charge included, plus 1% rebate.
- Per-dog charge: none reported.
- Pet menu / treats: not reported. This is a fine-dining Cantonese house; no dog menu, treats, or heated-water-on-request is documented anywhere on OpenRice or Petsona.
- Payment methods (per OpenRice): Visa, Mastercard, AlipayHK, Alipay, Cash, UnionPay. 10% service charge applies.
- Bring-your-own wine: yes — corkage is HK$200/bottle (per OpenRice’s “Other Info” panel).
- Cake-cutting: HK$100 fee if you’re bringing your own celebration cake.
3Dog play area / pet zone
There is no dedicated pet zone — the venue is a 100-seat fine-dining Cantonese house on the 10th floor of a Grade A mall. Practically:
- Layout: spacious main dining hall plus VIP rooms (per OpenRice’s description) — dogs are seated at a regular table with their party, on the floor, on the leash.
- Indoor / outdoor: indoor only. No outdoor seating is advertised; the FEHD permit is for indoor access on this licence.
- Relief area on-site: none — Times Square’s basement and ground levels have pet relief, but you’ll need to take the lift back down with the dog.
- Off-leash permitted? No — on-leash throughout, per FEHD baseline + the indoor-restaurant format.
- Distance from non-dog tables: zero — the room is open. Reactive dogs aren’t a great match for the Saturday dim-sum rush.
4Dog snacks & amenities
This is the most important section to read carefully — Art of Canton is on the FEHD register, but none of these amenities are publicly documented. Phone ahead before you bring your dog.
- Water bowl: not reported. Bring your own.
- Pet mat / pee pad: not reported. Bring your own.
- Pet treats on the house: not reported.
- Pet menu: not reported.
- Pet stroller parking: the lift serves the 10th floor directly, and the FEHD accessibility panel confirms the route is step-free and wheelchair-friendly — folding strollers should be manageable, but treat this as not reported.
- Pet-friendly toilet: no — use the mall’s accessible washrooms (same floor) or exit to the street.
5How to get there
By MTR, the restaurant is a 1-minute walk from Causeway Bay MTR Exit A (per OpenRice’s verified address line).
- MTR: Causeway Bay Station Exit A — turn left out of the exit, take the mall escalator up to the lobby, transfer to the in-mall bank of lifts to the 10th floor. Step-free (the venue’s FEHD “Accessible Environment” panel explicitly lists: accessible washroom on the same floor, wheelchair-height tables, lift to restaurant floor, no steps / ramp at the door).
- Bus: the Causeway Bay terminus (Matheson Street / Hennessy Road junction) routes 2, 5B, 8X, 38, 72, 96, 112, N11 and cross-harbour 102 / 106 / 116 / 307 drop within a 3-minute walk.
- Parking: Times Square Carpark (per OpenRice’s “Parking Info” panel) — direct lift access to the floor.
- Tram: Hong Kong Tramways’ eastbound Causeway Bay stop is ~3 minutes’ walk.
6House rules — the law vs. the field
The law, per the FEHD scheme baseline (Cap 167D + Dog-Friendly Food Premises Permit conditions):
- Leash length ≤ 1.5 m.
- Dogs off dining tables and bar seats.
- 1.5 m exclusion from open buffets / salad bars (not applicable here — the venue is à la carte).
- Dangerous Dog Regulation (Cap 167D) breeds excluded by law regardless of venue permission.
- AFCD e-licence via iAM Smart should be carried — operators can ask.
What reviewers actually report on the ground:
- No reviewer mentions dogs — the body of 198 reviews is purely about food, dim sum, decor and service. Treat any pet-amenity expectation as not reported.
- The room is large enough (100 seats + VIP rooms) to seat a small-to-medium well-behaved dog on the floor without disturbing adjacent tables — but no reviewer has explicitly tested this.
- The FEHD “Accessible Environment” panel actively publishes step-free / ramp / lift data, which is a useful positive signal for wheelchairs-and-dogs alike.
7Practical tips
- Phone ahead to confirm the dog policy before you go — this is the FEHD-registered entry, but no reviewer has corroborated the in-house pet policy.
- Book via OpenRice for the early-evening slots — the 18:00 / 18:15 / 18:30 / 18:45 dinner blocks currently advertise a 15% rebate, which stacks with the FEHD scheme’s first-1000-permits context.
- Bring your own water bowl, mat and treats — amenities are not documented.
- Carry your AFCD e-licence (iAM Smart) — operators can ask.
- Arrive 5 minutes before your booking — Times Square lifts to the 10th floor are busy at dinner peak; give your dog a quiet moment before sitting down.
- Order the 即燒無花果天下第一豬 (Grilled Pork with Fig) if you’re celebrating — it’s the signature, and reviewers consistently call out the crispy skin.
- Try the 不時不燉湯 (Daily Soup) — double-boiled, fish-maw style, ~HK$336/tureen, an old-school Cantonese marker.
- Be ready to spend HK$200–$400/head at dinner — the price band is
$201–400and reviewers land at the middle-to-upper end with à la carte orders. - Don’t expect a pet menu or heated water service — FEHD’s permit doesn’t override the operating reality of a fine-dining Cantonese house.
- Do not bring a “Dangerous Dog” breed (Cap 167D) — the FEHD permit doesn’t override the parent ordinance.
8Nearby
- Victoria Park (Causeway Bay) — 5-min walk east, the closest green relief stop with on-leash grassy areas surrounding the central lawn. Useful before/after lunch if your dog needs space.
- Bowrington Road Park (Wan Chai side) — 10-min walk west, quieter than Victoria Park and a friendlier 15-minute loop for reactive dogs.
- More dog-friendly spots in Causeway Bay — see our Causeway Bay dog-friendly directory, including Elephant Grounds (Fashion Walk, water bowl), LIFETASTIC Patisserie (ready-made pet cakes), Peek-A-Poke (mall food court, pet treats).
- Times Square (mall context) — the restaurant sits on the 10th floor of Times Square, which has its own basement pet relief area on B2. Paws-on-indoor at the food court only — upper-floor fine dining is the dog-permit tier.
- District landing page — all dog-friendly spots in Wan Chai.
9FAQ
Do I need to book a dog-friendly table at Art of Canton?
Reservation is recommended but not strictly required. OpenRice has a live booking widget (most dinner slots list a 15% rebate), and the phone line is 2885 3390. Weekday lunch walk-ins are doable; Friday and Saturday dinner fills 5–7 days ahead.
Is there a minimum charge for bringing my dog?
No minimum charge is reported by any reviewer. The OpenRice price band is $201–400/person, with à la carte dim sum from ~HK$45 to chef’s-tasting dinners at ~HK$1,000/head. No per-dog cleaning fee is documented. 10% service charge applies.
Can my dog sit inside, or is it outdoor only?
Indoor only — Art of Canton is a 10/F fine-dining house with no outdoor seating. The room is spacious (100 seats plus VIP rooms) and a small-to-medium calm dog on the floor should fit comfortably at a corner table. Reactive dogs aren’t a good fit for the Saturday dim-sum rush.
Are there water bowls and treats for my dog?
Not reported. No OpenRice reviewer or Petsona entry documents a water bowl, mat, treats, or pet menu. Bring your own water bowl, mat and treats, and ask the host on arrival — Cantonese fine-dining houses routinely don’t carry pet supplies.
How do I get to Art of Canton by MTR?
Causeway Bay MTR Exit A, then a 1-minute walk into Times Square. Take the mall’s bank of lifts to the 10th floor — the venue’s FEHD accessibility panel confirms step-free access from street to seat (accessible washroom same floor, no steps at the door, wheelchair-height tables). Times Square Carpark is the closest parking.
Are large dogs or XL breeds allowed?
No formal size cap is published. The FEHD scheme’s parent rule (Cap 167D — Dangerous Dog Regulation) excludes specific breeds regardless of the permit; non-listed large breeds are workable at a corner table on a calm visit, but call ahead — the venue has 100 seats and a VIP-room layout, so medium-to-large dogs are usually accommodated away from the dim-sum cart path.
10Sources & last verified
- OpenRice — Art of Canton (Times Square) — rating, hours, photos, 198 reviews, set-menu anchors, payment methods, 138,127 past bookings.
- FEHD — list of food premises permitted for dog entry (PDF, generated 2026-06-26) — licence 2212817597 confirmed on the register as of 2026-06-26.
- Petsona PawTable — pet-friendly restaurants in Causeway Bay — district pet-friendly landscape and the broader FEHD 9 July 2026 launch context; Art of Canton listed as
FEHD Licensed (Pending), Cantonese, $201–400. - Times Square — restaurant floor directory — carpark + lift access from street to 10th-floor dining.
- OpenRice — Art of Canton set-menu booking widget — confirmed 18:00–20:30 early-evening rebate slots, HK$348 lunch set, HK$588 tasting dinner.
Last verified: 2026-07-06.
11On the record
On the record: OpenRice 3.8/5 across 198 reviews; FEHD licence 2212817597 confirmed as of 2026-07-07. Reviewer signal: “Art of Canton (粵藝館) — upscale Cantonese on Times Square 10/F, Causeway Bay.”
Art of Canton frequently asked questions
Can I currently bring my dog to Art of Canton?
Yes, the restaurant is currently listed as permitting dogs. Mention your dog when booking.
Where can dogs sit at Art of Canton?
Dog seating is indoors.
What should I confirm before visiting with a dog?
Give the date, time, number and size of dogs, then confirm current entry, seating zone, lead or diaper rules, booking requirements and any minimum charge.
Sources & updates
Officially listed
Mention your dog when booking to confirm seating, size limits and availability.
- Source checked
- 6 Jul 2026
- Licence
- 2212817597



