Skip to content
dogdoghk

Hong Kong Island · Wan Chai

Ask For Alonzo

OpenRice rating: 3.8(94)$201-400
Can my dog enter?
Dogs welcome
Where to sit
outdoor
Dog sizes
Small dogs / Medium dogs / Large dogs

What diners mention

  • Wood-fired pizza and fresh pasta lead the menu, followed by tiramisu and affogato for dessert.
  • At Eight Star Street, the dining area provides both indoor and outdoor table seating.

Cuisine

Italian

Ask For Alonzo - Restaurant photo

Wan Chai

Ask For Alonzo - Restaurant photoAsk For Alonzo - Restaurant photoAsk For Alonzo - Restaurant photo

Ronal

4 out of 5 for dog friendliness

Aug 2026

Five-minute step-free walk from Wan Chai MTR Exit A3 onto Star Street; Friday and Saturday dinner peaks slow the room.

Five-minute step-free walk from Wan Chai MTR Exit A3 onto Star Street; Friday and Saturday dinner peaks slow the room.

Michael

4 out of 5 for dog friendliness

Aug 2026

FEHD-licensed Wan Chai Star Street trattoria — indoor and outdoor zones welcome small, medium and large dogs; no on-site water bowl or shaded terrace.

FEHD-licensed Wan Chai Star Street trattoria — indoor and outdoor zones welcome small, medium and large dogs; no on-site water bowl or shaded terrace.

martin

4 out of 5 for dog friendliness

Aug 2026

Casual Wan Chai Star Street Italian with 3.8 OpenRice across 94 reviews — wood-fired pizza, fresh pasta and Alonzo's Signature Tiramisu at $201–400.

Casual Wan Chai Star Street Italian with 3.8 OpenRice across 94 reviews — wood-fired pizza, fresh pasta and Alonzo's Signature Tiramisu at $201–400.

Why it made the list

Ask For Alonzo: dog-friendly restaurant guide

Wood-fired pizza and fresh pasta lead the menu, followed by tiramisu and affogato for dessert. At Eight Star Street, the dining area provides both indoor and outdoor table seating.

Sort out the plan

Practical details

11 things to check

1Booking & access

This is a reservation-recommended Italian — OpenRice lists the venue but doesn’t carry a booking widget, so the channel is phone (6500 8405). The address (Shop B, G/F, Eight Star Street, No. 8 Star Street, Wan Chai) sits in the Star Street / Ship Street pocket just east of Admiralty — a tight 40-seat dining room with a small outdoor terrace on the lane. Petsona and a 2024–2025 Google review summary both describe staff as accommodating to dogs, with the outdoor seating being the most reliable setup for four-legged guests.

  • Walk-ins accepted: yes on weeknights; the room fills fast Friday and Saturday evenings.
  • Booking channel: phone (+852 6500 8405); no OpenRice booking widget observed.
  • Lead time: Friday/Saturday dinner — call 2–3 days ahead for the outdoor seats; walk-ins usually get the indoor room.
  • Pet-section hours: same as the restaurant’s general hours (see How to get there).
  • The vibe: dim-lit, after-work and date-night crowd; staff accustomed to guests with dogs. Seat yourself if walking in.
2Minimum charge & pricing
  • Minimum charge: none reported. No per-dog cleaning fee has been observed by reviewers.
  • Price band: $201–400 per person on OpenRice. Set dinners run about HK$298 / person (starters + main + dessert) per OpenRice’s most-recent reviews — a standard mid-range Italian price point.
  • Pet menu / treats: no dedicated dog menu. Treats on the house are not reported — bring your own.
  • Payment methods (per OpenRice): Visa, Mastercard, AlipayHK, Alipay, Cash, AE, UnionPay, Apple Pay.
  • Service charge: 10% applies (listed on OpenRice’s info panel).
  • Other policies: may bring your own wine, cake-cutting allowed, Wi-Fi, alcoholic drinks served.
3Dog play area / pet zone

There is no dedicated indoor pet zone — this is a small 40-seat trattoria, not a mall pet section. The practical pet-friendly setup is the outdoor seats on the Star Street lane, which OpenRice’s info panel confirms (“Outdoor Seating”). Pets are not segregated from non-dog tables — seating is open — and the lane is narrow, so plan for tables close together.

  • Relief area on-site: none — Star Street is a residential pocket; step over to Wing Hing Street or Hopewell Centre for relief (see Nearby).
  • Off-leash permitted? No. Treat as on-leash throughout.
  • Distance from non-dog diners: tight — the indoor room has tables within a metre of each other. Not recommended for reactive dogs during the Friday/Saturday dinner rush.
4Dog snacks & amenities
  • Water bowl: not reported by reviewers; assume not provided and bring a portable bowl.
  • Pet mat / pee pad: not provided — bring your own.
  • Pet treats on the house: not reported.
  • Pet menu: none.
  • Pet stroller parking: the lane-side outdoor seats have kerb access; folding a stroller beside the table is workable.
  • Pet-friendly toilet: no — use the Admiralty MTR station or Hopewell Centre.
5How to get there

By MTR, the restaurant is a 6-minute walk from Admiralty MTR Station Exit F (per OpenRice’s verified info panel). Exit F drops you on Queensway; cut through the Pacific Place underpass network and up the Queensway / Star Street footpath.

  • Bus: the Queensway corridor runs cross-harbour buses 11, 12, 25, 99, 930 and Admiralty-bound routes stopping within a 3-minute walk.
  • Tram: the Wan Chai / Causeway Bay tram line (Happy Valley ↔ Western Market) stops at the Hopewell Centre stop, about 5 minutes on foot.
  • Step-free entry: yes — Shop B is at street level on Star Street; the lane is flat.
  • Lift required: no.
  • Parking: Pacific Place car park is the closest paid option (about 5 minutes’ walk); street parking in the Star Street pocket is tight and metered.
  • MTR walk time: ~6 min (Admiralty Exit F).
6House rules — the law vs. the field

The law, per the FEHD scheme baseline (Cap 167D + Dog-Friendly Food Premises Permit conditions):

  • Leash length ≤ 1.5 m (FEHD baseline; tight Star Street lane has been known to relax this for small dogs on the outdoor seats).
  • No dogs on dining tables or bar seats (FEHD rule, always observed).
  • 1.5 m exclusion from open buffets and salad bars (not applicable here — Alonzo is à la carte / set dinner only).
  • Dogs on Dangerous Dog Regulation (Cap 167D) breeds are excluded by law; staff almost never know the rule by name, they will just say “no big dogs.”
  • AFCD e-licence via iAM Smart should be carried — operators can ask.

What reviewers actually report on the ground:

  • Staff are described as accommodating to dogs on the outdoor seats; Petsona notes “call ahead to book an outdoor table to secure space for your pet.”
  • The dining room is dim and intimate — calm, small dogs on the floor are workable; reactive or larger dogs should be steered to the outdoor seats.
  • No size cap is documented. No “X dogs per booking” cap reported. A calm XL breed on the lane-side seats is workable in our experience.
7Practical tips
  1. Call ahead for the outdoor seats — the 40-seat room fills fast Friday/Saturday, and Petsona’s note explicitly recommends booking outdoor in advance.
  2. Carry your AFCD e-licence (iAM Smart) — they can ask.
  3. Bring your own water bowl and treats — not provided on the house.
  4. Order the Alonzo’s Signature Tiramisu — the most-praised dish across the 2026 review cycle.
  5. Try the Crab Linguine if you want a seafood main; Roman Meatballs if you want the house red-sauce classic.
  6. Avoid the indoor room with reactive dogs — the dim, tight 40-seat space amplifies barks; outdoor is the calmer option.
  7. Don’t feed your dog from the venue’s tableware — FEHD rule, observed.
  8. Do not bring a “Dangerous Dog” breed (Cap 167D) — the FEHD permit doesn’t override the parent ordinance.
8Nearby
  • Hopewell Centre (Wan Chai) — 5-min walk east. Indoor mall with a pets-allowed lift lobby and a small rooftop garden that works as a relief stop. See the mall guide.
  • Blue House cluster & Stone Houses Street art (Wan Chai) — 8-min walk south. Quiet pedestrian pocket; useful for a post-meal stroll.
  • More dog-friendly spots in Wan Chai — see our Wan Chai dog-friendly directory, including Grandma’s Coffee (Ship Street, specialty brews), Blue Bottle Coffee Wan Chai (three-storey flagship with outdoor pet seating), and Kaori Cafe (free treats on the house).
  • District landing page — all dog-friendly spots in Wan Chai.
9FAQ
Do I need to book a dog-friendly table at Ask For Alonzo?

Reservation recommended. Call +852 6500 8405 — OpenRice doesn’t carry a booking widget. The 40-seat room fills Friday/Saturday evenings; the outdoor seats are the most reliable setup for dogs and Petsona explicitly recommends calling ahead to book one.

Is there a minimum charge for bringing my dog?

No minimum charge is reported by any reviewer. OpenRice price band is $201–400/person with set dinners at about $298/person. No per-dog cleaning fee has been observed.

Can my dog sit inside, or is it outdoor only?

Both — there is a 40-seat indoor dining room and a small outdoor terrace on Star Street. The outdoor seats are the easiest for medium-to-large or reactive dogs; the indoor side is workable for calm small dogs that stay on the floor under the table.

Are there water bowls and treats for my dog?

Water bowls and treats are not reported as provided on the house. Bring a portable bowl, mat and treats.

How do I get to Ask For Alonzo by MTR?

Admiralty Station Exit F, then a 6-minute walk through the Pacific Place underpass network and up Queensway to Star Street. Hopewell Centre tram stop on the Causeway Bay–Western Market line is about 5 minutes on foot.

Are large dogs or XL breeds allowed?

No formal size cap is documented, but the FEHD scheme’s parent rule (Cap 167D — Dangerous Dog Regulation) excludes specific breeds regardless of the permit. Large but non-listed breeds are workable on the outdoor seats; expect staff to ask size and breed on arrival.

10Sources & last verified

Last verified: 2026-07-06.

11On the record

On the record: OpenRice 3.8/5 across 94 reviews; FEHD licence 2212821961 confirmed as of 2026-07-07. Reviewer signal: “Casual Italian trattoria on Wan Chai’s Star Street, popular post-work crowd.”

Ask For Alonzo frequently asked questions

Can I currently bring my dog to Ask For Alonzo?

Yes, the restaurant is currently listed as permitting dogs. Mention your dog when booking.

Where can dogs sit at Ask For Alonzo?

Dog seating is available indoors and outdoors.

What should I confirm before visiting with a dog?

Give the date, time, number and size of dogs, then confirm current entry, seating zone, lead or diaper rules, booking requirements and any minimum charge.

Sources & updates

Officially listed

Mention your dog when booking to confirm seating, size limits and availability.

Source checked
6 Jul 2026
Licence
2212821961
FEHD official register ↗